Mediation / ADR Program

The Mediation/ADR Program provides mediation services for five counties of the Coweta Judicial Circuit, including Troup, Heard, Meriwether, Coweta, and Carroll. The Coweta Judicial Circuit offers mediation in the Superior, State, Magistrate, Juvenile, and Probate Courts. In 1992, the City of Lagrange launched one of the first mediation programs in Georgia as a pilot program. The program was successful and continues today in Troup County.

The Coweta Judicial Courts offers a standing order in the Superior Courts, requiring all civil and domestic cases to be mediated within 150 days of filing of the case. Please see the Clerk of Court’s website for additional information. All other cases are referred on a case-by-case basis by either the parties, attorneys, or Judges of the Circuit.

Please contact the Troup County Mediation Center for any questions at +706 883 2168.

What is mediation?

Mediation is known as an informal method for parties to solve their disputes. In mediation, the parties meet with a mediator, a neutral third party, in a private setting to try to come to an agreement. The mediator does not make decisions about the case or impose solutions on the parties but instead seeks to encourage the parties to focus on their needs and interests rather than their positions in order to come up with a solution of their own for the dispute. The parties may be ordered to attend mediation, but any settlement they reach is entirely voluntary. If the parties do not reach an agreement in mediation, they retain their right to take the case before a judge or jury.

For further information regarding Mediation and ADR Programs in Georgia, please download the forms below.

Fee Waiver Application

Abbreviated program procedures and policies

Guidelines for Mediation

How to Prepare for Divorce Mediation

Domestic Relations Screening Form (DRSF)

Domestic Relations ADR Initiation Form (DRIF)

General Civil ADR Initiation Form (GCIF)

List of Program Mediators (Contact ADR Program for current list of members)